loading…
loading…
loading…
Lead Agencies must have child care standards for providers receiving CCDF funds, appropriate to the type of child care setting involved, that address appropriate staff:child ratios, group size limits for specific age populations, and the required qualifications for providers. Lead Agencies should map their categories of care to the CCDF categories. Exemptions for relative providers will be addressed in subsection 5.8. 5.2.1 Age classifications Describe how the Lead Agency defines the following age classifications (e.g., Infant: 0 – 18 months). a. Infant. Describe: 6 weeks to 12 months b. Toddler. Describe: 12 months to 24 months c. Preschool. Describe: 2 years to 5 years old d. School-Age. Describe: Hawaii defines school-age children aged four (4) years and eight (8) months and older who are enrolled in public or private elementary schools. 5.2.2 Ratio and group size limits Provide the ratio and group size limits for settings and age groups below. a. Licensed CCDF center-based care: i. Infant. Ratio: 1:3; 1:4 Group size: 1:3 for maximum group size of 6 children; 1:4 for maximum group size of 8. Under no circumstances shall there be more than two (2) children under three (3) months of age in any group. ii. Toddler. Ratio: 1:3 for maximum group of 6, Ratio 1:4 for maximum group of 8, Ratio 1:5 for maximum group of 10, Ratio 1:4 for maximum group of 12 Group size: 6, 8, 10, 12 iii. Preschool. Ratio: 2-year old = 1: 8 children; 3-year old = 1:12 children; 4-year old = 1:16 children Group size: 2-year old: 16 children, 3-year old: 24 children, 4-year old: 32 children, 5-year old: 40 children. iv. School-Age. Ratio: 1:20 children Group size: 40 children maximum v. Mixed-Age Groups (if applicable). Ratio: Multi-age grouping for children between 6 weeks - 18 months, or 6 months -36 months shall be the ratio of the age of the youngest child in the group. For multi-age groups, the ratio shall not exceed the ratio and group size of one age group higher than the youngest child in the group, and two thirds of the children must be in the oldest age group. For 2 - 5- year-old children, if the program does not specify mixing the ages, ratio shall be determined by the age of the youngest child. When an instructional curriculum and classroom environment and teacher training specifically require mixing the ages, the number of children per staff member is determined by the average of the staff-child ratios (2-yr. old 8 children : 1 staff; 3-yr. old 12 children : 1 staff; 4-yr. old 16 children : 1 staff; 5-yr. old 20 children : 1 staff) and shall not apply to more than 3 hours of mixed instructional time during any operational day for the same child or group of children. Group size: Multi-age grouping for children between 6 weeks - 18 months, or 6 months -36 months shall be the group size of the age of the youngest child in the group. For multi-age groups, the group size shall not exceed the group size of one age group higher than the youngest child in the group, and two thirds of the children must be in the oldest age group. For 2 - 5-year-old children, if the program does not specify mixing the ages, ratio shall be determined by the age of the youngest child. When an instructional curriculum and classroom environment and teacher training specifically require mixing the ages, the number of children per staff member is determined by the average of the staff-child ratios (2-yr. old 8 children : 1 staff; 3-yr. old 12 children : 1 staff; 4-yr. old 16 children : 1 staff; 5-yr. old 20 children : 1 staff) and shall not apply to more than 3 hours of mixed instructional time during any operational day for the same child or group of children. b. If different, provide the ratios and group size requirements for the license-exempt center- based providers who receive CCDF funds under the following age groups: i. [ ] Not applicable. There are no differences in ratios and group size requirements. ii. Infant: N/A iii. Toddler: Ratio 1:8 for two-year old children. Maximum group size is 16 children. iv. Preschool: 1:12 for three-year old children. Maximum group size is 24 children. Ratio 1:16 for four-year old children. Maximum group size is 32. v. School-Age: Ratio 1:20 for school age-children attending kindergarten and above in a public or private elementary school. Maximum group size is 40 children. vi. Mixed-Age Groups: N/A c. Licensed CCDF family child care home providers: i. Infant (if applicable) Ratio: 1:2 for children under 18 months; 2:4 children under 18 months when there is additional adult help in the registered family child care home. Group size: 2 children less than 18 months old; 4 children less than 18 months old when there is additional adult help in the home. ii. Toddler (if applicable) Ratio: 1:6 children total in care Group size: 6 (including only 2 of which can be younger than 18 months old) iii. Preschool (if applicable) Ratio: 1:6 children Group size: 6 children (including only 2 of which can be younger than 18 months old) iv. School-Age (if applicable) Ratio: 1:6 children Group size: 6 children (including only 2 of which can be younger than 18 months old). v. Mixed-Age Groups Ratio: 1:6 children to 1 staff (including only 2 of which can be younger than 18 months old. Group size: 6 children d. Are any of the responses above different for license-exempt family child care homes? [ ] No. [x] Yes. If yes, describe how the ratio and group size requirements for license- exempt providers vary by age of children served. No more than six (6) children at the same time during any part of a 24-hour day, including the provider’s own children, except when the provider’s children are six (6) years of age or older. Care at the same time for no more than two (2) children under 18 months of age, including the provider’s own children under 18 months of age. [ ] Not applicable. The Lead Agency does not have license-exempt family child care homes. e. Licensed in-home care (care in the child’s own home): i. Infant (if applicable) Ratio: N/A Group size: N/A ii. Toddler (if applicable) Ratio: N/A Group size: N/A iii. Preschool (if applicable) Ratio: N/A Group size: N/A iv. School-Age (if applicable) Ratio: N/A Group size: N/A v. Mixed-Age Groups (if applicable) Ratio: N/A Group size: N/A f. Are any of the responses above different for license-exempt in-home care? [x] No. [ ] Yes. If yes, describe how the ratio and group size requirements for license- exempt in-home care vary by age of children served. 5.2.3 Teacher/caregiver qualifications for licensed, regulated, or registered care Provide the teacher/caregiver qualifications for each category of care. a. Licensed center-based care i. Describe the teacher qualifications for licensed CCDF center-based care (e.g., degrees, credentials, etc.), including any variations based on the ages of children in care: 1. Teacher qualifications: A. A degree in child development or early childhood education from an accredited college or university, and six (6) months working experience in an early childhood program; B. Post-secondary credential in child development associate program or organized two-year (sixty credit) college program and certificate in early childhood education, plus one-year supervised teaching experience in an early childhood program; C. Baccalaureate (bachelor's degree) in elementary education from an accredited college or university plus six (6) months working in an early childhood program, plus six (6) credits -- semester or equivalent approved child development or early childhood training courses, (may be included as part of Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree); or D. Baccalaureate (bachelor's degree) in any field from an accredited college or university plus six (6) months working in an early childhood program, plus 12 credits--semester or equivalent approved child development or early childhood training courses, (may be included as part of Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree). 2. Assistant teacher qualifications: A. Post-secondary credential in child development associate program or associate of arts degree and certificate in early childhood education, and six (6) months experience working in an early childhood program; or B. Two (2) years (sixty credits) of post-secondary education plus six (6) months working in an early childhood program and nine (9) credits--semesters equivalent approved child development or early childhood training courses. 3. Lead caregiver qualifications: A. A bachelor's degree or higher in Early Childhood Education (ECE) or Child Development (CD) or related fields, e.g. maternal-child health, nursing, or human development; twelve months of full time experience working with children under thirty-six months of age in a licensed group care setting; twelve semester credits approved ECE or CD courses, which may be part of the bachelor's degree and shall be from a regionally accredited college or university; and thirty hours of course work in infant and toddler development from an accredited teacher training institute or program; or B. A high school diploma or its equivalent, and a child development associate credential; twenty-four months of full time experience working with children under five years of age in a licensed group care setting of which at least twelve months of experience shall have been with children under thirty-six months of age; twelve semester credits approved ECE or CD courses from a regionally accredited college or university or transferable to a regionally accredited college or university; and thirty hours of course work in infant toddler development from an accredited teacher training institute or program; or C. Two years of college education from a regionally accredited college or university, preferably in ECE or CD or related fields; twenty-four months of full time experience working with children under five years of age in a licensed group care setting of which at least twelve months of experience shall have been with children under thirty-six months of age; twelve semester credits approved ECE or CD courses from a regionally accredited college or university or transferable to a regionally accredited college or university; and thirty hours of course work in infant and toddler development from an accredited teacher training institute. 4. Caregiver qualifications: A. A high school diploma or its equivalent, twelve months of full time experience working with children under thirty-six months of age in a licensed group care setting, twelve semester credits approved ECE or CD training courses from a regionally accredited college or university or transferable to a regionally accredited college or university, and thirty hours of course work in infant and toddler development from an accredited teacher training institute or program; or B. A high school diploma, thirty-six months of full time experience working with children under thirty-six months of age in a licensed group setting, and thirty hours of course work in infant and toddler development from an accredited teacher training institute or program. ii. Describe the director qualification for licensed CCDF center-based care, including any variations based on the ages of children in care or the number of staff employed: Infant and Toddler Center: A bachelor's degree or higher in early childhood education (ECE), child development (CD), or related field from a regionally accredited college or university or transferable to a regionally accredited college or university; thirty hours of course work in infant and toddler development from an accredited teacher training institute or program; and twelve months of full time experience working with children under thirty-six months of age in a licensed group care setting; or Two years of college education from a regionally accredited college or university in early childhood education, child development, or related field; thirty hours of course work in infant and toddler development from an accredited teacher training institute or program; and twenty-four months of full time experience working with children under thirty-six months of age in a licensed group care setting. Preschool: A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university preferably with courses in early childhood education, child development, or related fields, and two (2) years of experience working with children; or combination of two (2) years of college education or child development associate (CDA) certification and four (4) years of experience in work with children; and in either case, at least one (1) year of experience shall be with children of the appropriate age for the preschool being directed. School-Age: A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university and 12 months of experience working with children; or CDA certification and 12 months of experience in working with children; or two (2) years of college education and 24 months of experience in working with children. b. Licensed family child care Describe the provider qualifications for licensed family child care homes, including any variations based on the ages of children in care: Shall be at least 18 years old and have two (2) written references. Family child care (FCC) center caregiver must have pediatric first aid and child cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification. No other educational qualifications or work experience required. Each caregiver, substitute and volunteer, shall complete initial and annual health and safety training. c. Licensed, regulated, or registered in-home care (care in the child’s own home by a non- relative) Describe the provider qualifications for licensed, regulated, or registered in-home care providers (care in the child’s own home) including any variations based on the ages of children in care: N/A, this arrangement appears unlikely. However, registered providers shall be at least 18 years old and have two (2) written references. The registered caregiver must have pediatric first aid and child cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification. No other educational qualifications or work experience required. Each caregiver, substitute and volunteer, shall complete initial and annual health and safety training. 5.2.4 Teacher/caregiver qualifications for license-exempt providers Provide the teacher/provider qualification requirements (for instance, age, high school diploma, specific training, etc.) for the license-exempt providers under the following categories of care: a. License-exempt center-based child care. (A) An initial training in health and safety standards that is approved by the department prior to caring for an eligible child; (B) Safe sleep training that is approved by the department on an annual basis when the provider starts caring for an eligible child who is less than one (1) year of age; until no eligible children in care are less than one (1) year of age; and (C) Minimum of eight (8) hours of training within one year of completion of the initial training . Submit to initial, annual, and on-going monitoring inspections where care is being provided to ensure compliance. b. License-exempt home-based child care. (A) An initial training in health and safety standards that is approved by the department prior to caring for an eligible child; (B) Safe sleep training that is approved by the department on an annual basis when the provider starts caring for an eligible child who is less than one (1) year of age; until no eligible children in care are less than one (1) year of age; and (C) Minimum of eight (8) hours of training within one (1) year of completion of the initial training. c. License-exempt in-home care (care in the child’s own home). (A) An initial training in health and safety standards that is approved by the department prior to caring for an eligible child; (B) Safe sleep training that is approved by the department on an annual basis when the provider starts caring for an eligible child who is less than one (1) year of age; until no eligible children in care are less than one (1) year of age; and (C) Minimum of eight (8) hours of training within one (1) year of completion of the initial training.